10 dollar ramblings

When I look back on this time of November 2012, I don’t want to forget the copious amount of feelings I’ve experienced during the elections. The feeling of attachment to Romney was expressed and portrayed among my friends, family members, and Mormon acquaintances. I had decided one thing in February; look at the whole picture and don’t automatically trust the politician simply because he has the same faith as me. Yet over and over, he proved to be a great man who did the best he could to pronounce his ideas in the limelight of the media. I found myself favoring him greatly–favoring the platforms that he chose and the way to go about them. I want to own a small business someday and he expressed how important small businesses are to the economy. Because of my recent studies in economics, his view on the economy and how to fix it just makes sense. I started to hang onto every word he said, but in the back of my mind I told myself not to get my hopes up…because of the “what if?”

Tuesday was a sad day for me. It seemed to end so quickly and I kept telling myself it wasn’t over. But it was. I believe in hard work and success, yet the perspectives of half of the American people fall short of that. Say you’re on a plane, and you’re sitting next to a businessman and a wealthy woman. The woman turns to you and says, “I have 100 dollars. Since this man has his MBA, I’m going to allow him to determine his cut first, and the remainder will go to you. If you refuse your remainder then neither of you get the money.” The businessman decides to take 90 dollars and give you the rest. Would you take the $10, or not let either of you get anything?

It was instilled in us when we were children. “Sharing is caring.” Crying on Christmas morning because your brother got a Gameboy color and you didn’t. “That’s not FAIR,” was a common phrase heard and said. It still sometimes is. But as I’ve grown, I’ve learned that you aren’t going to get the same as everyone else. Sometimes it’s fate and other times you just don’t deserve it. Life goes on; you take what you’re given and you make the very best of it. Happiness isn’t having everything. It’s making the most of everything. There’s a superfluous sense of entitlement among us. We shouldn’t just assume that we deserve food stamps and welfare and lower tax cuts than the rich people. We shouldn’t feel the need to be taken care of by the government. We need to take care of ourselves and be less demanding of things that aren’t necessary. Necessary = Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness. And to me, happiness is coming out $10 richer–even when someone else got the $90.

One thought on “10 dollar ramblings

Leave a Reply

