Welcome to the Diva Life

Exactly 2 years, 3 months and 8 days ago, my life was changed. My view on the outside world was bettered. My ambition was reiterated. I was sitting in section D of the Taco Bell Arena in Boise, Idaho. There could have been more people present, but the excitement was inescapable. I remember exactly what I was wearing, (bright blue sundress with matching eye shadow), who I was sitting next to, (Brittany Walker and Justin Miller), and what I was thinking, (“I only had to pay 30 bucks for this life changing event?”).  This was the absolute turning point in my life. This was the moment I knew that I was going to, and forever, be

a diva.

Let me introduce you to my inspiration.

Beyonce Giselle Knowles

  • Born on September 4, 1981
  • Born in Houston, Texas
  • Rose to fame in the group Destiny’s Child
  • Released first solo album in 2003 (Dangerously in Love)
  • B’Day released in 2006
  • I am…Sasha Fierce released in 2008
  • Received 10 Grammy’s for Sasha Fierce album

These are but a few of her numerous achievements. This woman, I believe, will be the first black woman to receive all three notorious awards; Grammy, Academy, and Tony. She is most definitely a diva.

Now don’t be hasty and wonder why I would feel like I know her personally when I will never have the chance to meet her in person. Let me take you back to that concert on September 10, 2007. After coming onstage in a diamond encrusted bikini dress, I knew that I wanted to look like her (minus the dark skin, a goal that I will never be able to attain even if I live in a tanning bed), I knew that I wanted to dance like her (which I have the ability to do if I get a little more junk in my trunk), and I knew that I wanted to sing like her (add a little more vibrato and black girl chest voice and I’ve got it). But here comes the turning point. Watch this video.

At that moment, when she started crying, I touched my cheek and felt the dampness of a salty tear rolling down my face. My heart was wrenched out of my body and I didn’t care if I was embarrassing myself. I felt her emotion as my own. In a sense, I do know Beyonce Knowles. I cried with her at that concert.

Welcome to the Diva Life. The pleasure, the privilege is all mine.

One thought on “Welcome to the Diva Life

  1. lacey says:

    wow, that looks like such an amazing concert, your words and video totally pulled me in maddi- i almost cried myself! haha! thanks!

Leave a Reply

